You don’t need your Jimdo store any longer? No problem! You can deactivate your store completely or temporarily by following one of these alternatives. If you set up payments in your dashboard, you can also pause online payments at any time instead of disconnecting a payment provider. Deactivating your store doesn't close your payment setup.
Completely deactivating the store
1. Delete the store page
- Log in to your Jimdo account and choose the desired website
- Click on Website Builder on the very left and then select Pages. You'll now see an overview of all your website’s pages.
- Click then on the three dots (⋮) next to your store page
- Click Delete
- Confirm the prompt
Your Jimdo store will be immediately deactivated and all your products will be deleted. Your website visitors won’t see any store-related items such as the Shopping Cart or Store links on your website.
2. Delete all products
- Log in to your Jimdo account and choose the desired website
- Click on Store on the very left and then select Products.
- You will be able to delete all products by clicking on the three points (⋮) next to the article. Please note that the products will have to be erased one by one.
Once all are deleted, your store will be deactivated and all store pages will be removed from your website.
Note: Deactivating your store doesn't pause or close your payment setup. It's still used for bookings, payment links and invoices. If you want to stop accepting online payments altogether, see How do I pause payments or close my payment setup?
Temporarily deactivating the store
If you don’t wish to completely delete the store page or all your products, but to temporarily deactivate your store, you can choose between:
- Changing the stock of all your products to 0. This will deactivate the button to add items to the cart.
-
Temporarily stopping online payments. How you do this depends on how your payments are set up:
- Payments set up in your dashboard: Click on Payments on the very left, then on Settings, and pause accepting payments. For details, see How do I pause payments or close my payment setup?
-
Your own Stripe account or PayPal: Disconnect your payment methods by following the steps below:
- Click on Store on the very left and then on Payment and currency.
- Go to the payment method you wish to disconnect and click on the View Details button.
- Click on Disconnect and confirm your choice.
Important: Your store, bookings, payment links and invoices all use the same payment setup. If you pause or disconnect your payments, your customers can't pay online for any of them. To keep accepting payments for bookings, payment links or invoices, change the stock of your products to 0 instead.
Your visitors will still be able to access your products, but they won’t be able to purchase them. In this case, we advise you to write a message or a note on your website to warn your potential customers.
Once you want to resume your activities, you can either change the stock of the products, switch payments back on or connect the payment methods again.